Fall in the Smoky Mountains

I have always loved autumn. As a child I lived in several areas where the leaves changed colors and loved kicking my feet through the fallen leaves. For most of my life, though, I lived in the deep South, where fall color is limited. Brown, dead pine needles are just not the same. They don’t kick. They only get stuck in the rake.

You can't beat this view!

You can’t beat this view!

Now that I live in the Smoky Mountains, I marvel every day – in all seasons – at the beauty around me. Fall is my favorite, though. After a hot summer, everyone looks forward to cooler weather and the awe-inspiring leaf change. Visitors flock to the mountains in droves for a glimpse of this spectacle.

For a little while, there are only tiny peeks of color through the trees on the mountaintops. The colors slowly creep down the mountainsides until they are ablaze. First, there are scattered trees in orange, red and yellow. The next day, a few more, and so on. The landscape changes every day. Shuffling through the leaves on my front porch at work brings daily pleasure. I don’t want anyone to sweep them away. Driving down our country road, I love to stir up the leaves as the tires roll down the way.

100_3572

Brilliant yellows!

The variety of color is amazing. There are shades of red: cherry, crimson, burgundy. Golden yellow and pale lemonade. Burnt orange and fiery orange-red. Peering through are the green leaves that have not yet changed. It is a kaleidoscope that morphs daily.

The trees shed their coats of all shades and the leaves fall in the steady breezes of the mountains. Naked trees reveal hidden

A variety of color in one shot!

A variety of color in one shot!

treasures – moss-covered boulders, Indian pipe and mushrooms of all sizes and shapes.

Too soon the trees are bare. The countryside is brown and gray and ready to begin the life cycle again.

Is it any wonder that I constantly pick up the colorful leaves and use them for creations that we can enjoy year-round?

Shop for some of the special treasures created from autumn leaves at http://smokymountainleafworks.com.

About Cindy A. Johnson

I live in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains in Tennessee. I love to read, work in my flower and vegetable gardens, feed and watch the birds in the yard, sit on the front porch looking at the mountains and go camping. I also like to watch wildlife, including my cats and dog (ha!). I write online articles on a variety of subjects. Check out my book reviews at: http://readerjots.wordpress.com, wonderful nature stuff at http://mynaturenotes.wordpress.com and assorted articles on interesting stuff at http://Esmeowl12.hubpages.com. My first ebook was published in January 2012: "Alphamania: An Alphabet Resource for Teachers and Parents." Check out the blog at http://alphabetletters.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in autumn leaves, birds, crafts, fall leaves, Great Smoky Mountains, leaf art, nature, pressed leaves, Smoky Mountain gifts, souvenirs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

