The Garden is Springing Up!

Beautiful, bright daffodils

Beautiful, bright daffodils

Although my business is all about “fall,” I really do enjoy all seasons. Snow sugar-coats the mountains in winter and the daffodils pop up in the spring.

I celebrated the approach to spring this weekend by “playing in the dirt.” The garden is my solace. I love to pluck the stubborn weeds from the soil and smooth it out to prepare for all the seeds and plants I have planned for the area. Dig, dig, pull, pull. Every muscle in my body hurts, but it’s a good hurt. I don’t mind.

Camellia

Camellia

I have both flower and vegetable gardens. There’s really no rhyme or reason to the things I plant or where they go. I prefer perennials for flowers since I only have to plant once. Knock-out roses, bee balm, lilies of several varieties, tulips, daffodils, hyacinth, lavender, and marigolds have done well for me over the years. The one concession I hold to annuals are morning glories.

Knock-out Roses

Knock-out Roses

I get an intense satisfaction from planting vegetable plants and seeds and eating what I grow. It thrills me to no end. Often, I will try to grow something just to see if it will grow! Successes: tomatoes, sugar snap peas, corn, carrots, beets, birdhouse gourds, pumpkins, banana peppers.  Still working on these: squash, cucumbers.

The weather is so changeable right now. Cold one day, warm the next. I am looking forward to all the warm days (not the hot ones) to come so I can bask in the beautiful sunshine and coax my garden to grow.

Pumpkin growing

Pumpkin growing

Don’t forget that the 100th LIKE on the Smoky Mountain Leaf Works Facebook page will receive a free gift.

https://www.facebook.com/SmokyMountainLeafWorks

About Cindy A. Johnson

I live in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains in Tennessee. I love to read, work in my flower and vegetable gardens, feed and watch the birds in the yard, sit on the front porch looking at the mountains and go camping. I also like to watch wildlife, including my cats and dog (ha!). I write online articles on a variety of subjects. Check out my book reviews at: http://readerjots.wordpress.com, wonderful nature stuff at http://mynaturenotes.wordpress.com and assorted articles on interesting stuff at http://Esmeowl12.hubpages.com. My first ebook was published in January 2012: "Alphamania: An Alphabet Resource for Teachers and Parents." Check out the blog at http://alphabetletters.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in autumn leaves, birds, fall leaves, gardening, Great Smoky Mountains, leaf art, nature, pressed leaves, Smoky Mountain gifts, souvenirs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

